YEAR 2020

Back to news archive

Institutionalization of LIfBi is making good progress: 5th Meeting of the Board of Trustees

On Tuesday, March 25, 2014, the 5th Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Leibniz Institute for Educational Trajectories (LIfBi) at the University in Bamberg was held and, for the first time, both the scientific representatives and the members with advisory status took part. 
The Board of Trustees advises and monitors the LIfBi Board of Directors in compliance with the Statutes. In order to fulfill this duty expertly and appropriately, this committee consists of seven members with voting rights from the fields of politics and science. At present, the following members are members with voting rights on the Board of Trustees: Kornelia Haugg as representative sent by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (represented by Dr. Doerte Treuheit), Dr. Michael Mihatsch as representative sent by the Bavarian State Ministry for Education and Cultural Affairs, Science and the Arts (represented by Dr. Georg Brun), and Prof. Dr. Dr. habil. Godehard Ruppert, President of the University of Bamberg.

The four internationally acclaimed scientists on the Board of Trustees—also with voting rights—represent different thematic focuses of LIfBi as a research-based infrastructure facility. In detail, the following experts from almost every field and profession connected with the Institute are supporting the LIfBi: Prof. Dr. Marlis Buchmann (University of Zurich, sociology), Prof. Dr. Jutta Heckhausen (University of California, Irvine, psychology), and Prof. Dr. Rudolf Tippelt (LMU Munich, educational studies), as well as Prof. Dr. Stefan C. Wolter (University of Bern, economics). The Board of Directors is grateful to all four scientists for their willingness to support the objectives and future progress of LIfBi.

From among its scientific members, the 5th Meeting of the Board of Trustees elected Prof. Dr. Tippelt as Chairman. Prof. Dr. Tippelt’s expertise on Leibniz Institutes along with his professional reputation makes him a perfectly-suited candidate for this position. The Board of Directors would like to thank him for accepting his mandate and supporting the LIfBi during this particularly turbulent early phase. From among the members representing the ministries, Dr. Georg Brun, representative from the Bavarian Science Ministry, was elected as Vice Chairman.

For a long time now, LIfBi has owed a great debt of gratitude to Dr. Brun, Dr. Treuheit, and Prof. Dr. Dr. habil. Ruppert for their support of the Leibniz Institute during its foundation process. The Board of Directors would like to thank them, too, for their willingness to sit on the Board of Trustees.

In this first full session, the NEPS Scientific Board was appointed as the Scientific Advisory Board of LIfBi. Hence, the following members will continue supporting and advising the LIfBi:
  • Prof. Robert Erikson, Swedish Institute for Social Research, Stockholm University
  • Prof. Kathy Sylva, Department of Educational Studies, University of Oxford
  • Prof. Peter Elias, Warwick Institute for Employment Research, University of Warwick
  • Prof. Dr. Rainer Bromme, Psychological Institute, Westfälische Wilhelms-University Münster
  • Prof. Dr. Dres. h.c. Walter Müller, Mannheim Centre for European Social Research, University of Mannheim
  • Prof. Louis-André Vallet, Observatoire Sociologique du Changement–Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and Sciences Po Paris
  • Prof. Christian Dustmann, Departmant of Economics, University College London
  • Prof. Bernd Fitzenberger, Ph.D., Institute for Economic Research, Department of Applied Econometrics, University of Freiburg
  • Prof. Peter B. Tymms, Curriculum Evaluation and Management Centre, Durham University.

In addition, the following are members with advisory status on the LIfBi Board of Trustees:
  • the members of the Board of Directors
  • the Chairperson of the Scientific Advisory Board (represented at this meeting by Prof. Dr. Dres. h.c. Walter Müller, Scientific Advisory Board member)
  • two representatives of the German Federal States appointed by the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the Länder in the Federal Republic of Germany, Dr. Bernd Schaal and Dr. Susanne Eickemeier,
  • the Chairperson of the Annual General Meeting of the National Educational Panel Study (NEPS), Prof. Dr. Cordula Artelt, and 
  • one staff representative. This representative has not been elected yet because the prerequisites for a Full Staff Meeting, at which said representative will be elected, were not met before March 18, 2014. 

This first meeting of the Board of Trustees in this extended circle of members represented another milestone on the way to completing the constitution of the LIfBi.