YEAR 2020

Back to news archive

LIfBi Board of Trustees paves way for further consolidation of LIfBi at 11th meeting


Prof. Dr. Sandra Buchholz takes over interim position as LIfBi Director as of April 1, 2017.

Chaired by Prof. Dr. Rudolf Tippelt, Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich, the LIfBi Board of Trustees convened for their 11th meeting on March 21, 2017.  

The LIfBi Director, Prof. Dr. Hans-Günther Roßbach, gave his report on the developments of the Institute since the Board of Trustees’ last meeting in October 2016. Afterwards, Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schneider, representative of the LIfBi Scientific Advisory Board, informed the members of the Board of Trustees about the evaluation of the work at the Institute, particularly about appointments for leading positions. Dr. Robert Polgar advised the Board of Trustees on the program budget for 2018 and the annual statement of accounts for 2016. Prof. Dr. Sandra Buchholz then reported on the activities of the NEPS Network Committee, and Dr. Franziska Fellenberg recapitulated on the work of the Equal Opportunities Officer.

In the course of the meeting, the Board of Trustees resolved to appoint Prof. Dr. Sandra Buchholz as interim Director of the LIfBi as of April 1, 2017, following the retirement of Prof. Dr. Hans-Günther Roßbach. The joint appointment procedure for a new regular Director of the LIfBi together with the University of Bamberg will resume in due course.

As of April 1, 2017, Prof. Dr. Cordula Artelt will become Head of Department 1 “Competencies, Personality, Learning Environments”.

The following members with voting rights were in attendance (in alphabetical order): Dr. Georg Brun (alternate for Ministerialrat Dr. Johannes Eberle, Bavarian State Ministry of Education, Science, and the Arts), Prof. Dr. Marlis Buchmann (University of Zurich), Kornelia Haugg (Federal Ministry of Education and Research), Prof. Dr. Jutta Heckhausen (University of California, Irvine, via conference call), Prof. Dr. Dr. habil. Godehard Ruppert (President of the University of Bamberg), and Prof. Dr. Rudolf Tippelt (Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich).

Furthermore, as per the statutes, all members of the LIfBi Board of Directors were present in their advisory function. Also in attendance in their advisory function were Dr. Michael Bayer, representing the NEPS staff, Prof. Dr. Sandra Buchholz (University of Bamberg) as Chair of the NEPS Annual General Meeting and the NEPS Network Committee, Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schneider (University of Wuppertal), representing the Scientific Advisory Board, as well as Dr. Bernd Schaal (State Institute for School Quality and Educational Research), representing the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the Länder in the Federal Republic of Germany, and Dr. Doerte Treuheit (Federal Ministry of Education and Research).