The Project „ReGES – Refugees in the German Educational System”

News Archive





The increase in the influx of refugees over the last years is presenting the Federal Republic of Germany with major organizational and political challenges concerning their integration. Integration—understood here as the integration of individual immigrants into the social systems—can, particularly for young refugees, take place via the education system. However, hardly any reliable data are available on this topic so far. 

Therefore, ReGES investigates the conditions leading to the successful integration of refugees into our educational system: What are the factors impeding or delaying integration? What kind of support will promote the successful integration into our society? The objective is to analyze the integration process of young immigrants into the German educational system and into German society. First results were presented in 2018 (PDF, German only). The publication of a scientific use file is planned for the first half of 2021.


The Project Team of ReGES in 2018: Front row (from the left to the right): Shaza Al Rihawi, Dr. Jutta von Maurice, Dr. Gisela Will, Ebru Balaban, Katharina Renz; middle row (from the left to the right): Dr. Christoph Homuth, Jörg Welker, Anike Schild, Wenke Niehues; back row (from the left to the right): Prof. Dr. Hans-Günther Roßbach, Pascal Bentata, Dr. Dominik Weigand, Florian Heinritz.