Scientific Advisory Board

Members and responsibilities of the Scientific Advisory Board according to § 12 of the statutes:

The Scientific Advisory Board advises the Board of Trustees on the fulfillment of its duties and responsibilities as recommended by the Senate of the Leibniz Association. In particular, it carries out the following tasks:
a) statement on the long-term research and development plan,
b) statement on the draft program budget,
c) statement on the proposed appointments for the role of Director and in the event of further joint appointments of scientists with a university,
d) implementation of measures of quality assurance on currently running operations (auditing).


Following the proposal by the Director, the Board of Trustees appoints members to the Scientific Advisory Board for a period of 4 years. Reappointment is admissible no more than once. There are at least six and no more than 12 members on the Scientific Advisory Board who are, if possible, experts in the field of empirical educational research (or closely related topics) or data infrastructure. It is desirable that a considerable number of the scientists are employed by institutions outside of Germany. One representative each from the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and from the Bavarian State Ministry of Science and the Arts can participate in meetings in an advisory function.


Prof. Dr. Michael Bosnjak
Universität Trier
FB I - Psychologie
54286 Trier
Prof. Hannah Brückner, Ph.D.
New York University Abu Dhabi
PO Box 129188
Saadiyat Island Abu Dhabi
United Arab Emirates
Prof. Dr. Martin Brunner
University of Potsdam
Professorship Quantitative Methods in Educational Sciences
Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 24-25
14476 Potsdam
Prof. Dr. Markus Bühner
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Department Psychologie
Leopoldstr. 13
80802 Munich
Prof. Dr. Paul Leseman
Universiteit Utrecht
Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences
Heidelberglaan 1
3584 CS Utrecht
Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h.c. Karl Ulrich Mayer (Chair)
Max Planck Institute for Human Development/Yale University
Lentzeallee 94
14196 Berlin
Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schneider (Deputy Chair)
University of Wuppertal
Chair of Finance and Taxation
Gaußstraße 20
42119 Wuppertal
Prof. Dr. Elsbeth Stern
ETH Zurich
Institute for Behavioral Sciences
RZ H 25
Clausiusstrasse 59
CH-8092 Zürich