Scientific Advisory Board

Members and responsibilities of the Scientific Advisory Board according to §11 of the statutes:

The Scientific Advisory Board advises the Board of Trustees on the fulfillment of its duties and responsibilities as recommended by the Senate of the Leibniz Association. In particular, it carries out the following tasks:
a) statement on the long-term research and development plan,
b) statement on the draft program budget,
c) statement on the proposed appointments for the role of Director and in the event of further joint appointments of scientists with the University of Bamberg,
d) implementation of measures of quality assurance on currently running operations (auditing).

Following the proposal by the Director, the Board of Trustees appoints members to the Scientific Advisory Board for a period of 4 years. There are at least six and no more than 12 members on the Scientific Advisory Board who are, if possible, experts in the field of empirical educational research (or closely related topics) or data infrastructure. At least half of the scientists must be employed by institutions outside of Germany.  One representative each from the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and from the Bavarian State Ministry of Education and Cultural Affairs, Science, and the Arts can participate in meetings in an advisory function.



Professor Kathy Sylva
Department of Education
University of Oxford
Norham Gardens 15
Oxford OX2 PY
Professor Karl Ulrich Mayer
Max Planck Institute for Human Development/Yale University
Lentzeallee 94
Professor Kerstin Schneider
Chair of Public Economics and Business Taxation
Bergische Universität Wuppertal
Gaußstraße 20
42119 Wuppertal
Professor Elsbeth Stern
ETH Zürich
Institute for Research on Learning and Instruction
RZ H 25
Clausiusstrasse 59
Professor Louis-André Vallet
Observatoire Sociologique du Changement–CNRS and Sciences Po Paris
27 Rue Saint Guillaume
75007 Paris